Managing Your Fund

Your Trustee

The Trustee is responsible for the overall operation of the Fund and ensuring that it operates within the rules of the Trust Deed and relevant Government legislation. The Trustee is committed to making decisions that are in the best interests of members.


There are ten Directors on the Trustee Board comprising:

  • four member-representative Directors appointed by the Maritime Union of Australia (MUA)
  • two employer-representative Directors elected by Participating Employers of the seafaring industry
  • two employer representative Directors appointed by Full Participating Employers of the stevedoring industry; and
  • two independent Directors appointed by the other Directors under the Trustee company’s constitution.


The Trustee Board meets every two months throughout the year. The following details the Directors on the Trustee Board as at 30 June 2016. Changes are reported on our website.


Board of Directors as at 30 June 2016

Member representatives

  • Padraig Crumlin (Chair)
  • Michael Carr
  • Michael Doleman
  • Jamie Newlyn


The MUA may appoint an alternate Director to act in place of any of the member representatives.


Employer representatives – seafaring industry

  • Jeffrey Weber
  • Tony Wilks

Employer representatives – stevedoring industry

  • David Owen
  • Roger Burrows – started 30 June 2016


The participating employers may appoint an alternate Director to act in place of employer representatives.
At 30 June 2016, the alternative employer representative Directors appointed were:

  • Samuel Kaplan
  • Donald Sleath
  • Peter Raynor


Independent Directors at 30 June 2016

  • Lynelle Briggs
  • Norman Pack


Directors who left the Trustee Board during the 2015/16 financial year

  • John Watts – retired as independent director 6 May 2016
  • Norman Pack – resigned as employer representative director 6 May 2016
  • Roger Burrows has since resigned effective 17 August 2016


Corporate governance

The Trustee Board is also assisted by the following Board Committees:

  • Audit and Risk Committee
  • Benefits Committee
  • Investment Committee
  • Marketing Committee; and
  • Remuneration Committee.


Each of these committees has its own charter of responsibilities and reports to the Trustee Board with recommendations for full Board discussion and decision.


Fund operations

The Fund’s administration, accounting, communication and financial planning services are provided by Maritime Financial Services Pty Limited (MFS), which is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Trustee and holds an Australian Financial Services (AFS) Licence (granted by ASIC, No. 241735). As an AFS licensee, MFS has arrangements in place to ensure it complies with its licence obligations.


Professional indemnity insurance

The Trustee has taken out insurance to indemnify the Directors (and other responsible officers) from loss resulting from any claim made against the Trustee for any wrongful act of the Trustee or any other person for whose wrongful act the Trustee is legally responsible. The Directors, however, are not indemnified against fines or penalties imposed by law as a result of negligent or dishonest conduct.